Official Notice Board

2019 Summerset Results & Recap


What a great weekend with fantastic weather and a terrific turnout for the 54th annual Summerset Regatta! 53 boats participated, either racing or cruising throughout the weekend of October 4-6. Hundreds of sailors celebrated together at the Friday Captain’s Party at Bonita Bill’s, the Saturday Cocktail Party at Nauti Parrot and the Sunday Awards Banquet at the Original Shrimp Dock, all on Fort Myers Beach.

Wind and weather conditions were favorable allowing for three buoy courses on Saturday and a coastal distance race on Sunday. With boats divided into six classes, the race committee aboard James Gallagher’s Calusa successfully ran 17 starts in two days. The competition was terrific and congratulations to all the captains and crew who proved their skills!

Most Summerset participants hail from the Fort Myers, Cape Coral, Punta Gorda, or Naples/Marco areas and are members of respective local sailing clubs. The Summerset Regatta is hosted annually by the CMCS (Caloosahatchee Marching and Chowder Society) which meets monthly in Cape Coral and organizes at least one race and cruise each month in Southwest Florida. CMCS will be celebrating it’s 50th anniversary in 2020.


Presenting sponsors included Offshore Sailing School, Marine Trading Post and Rice Windows and Doors, with over 40 other businesses helping make the Regatta a success. Proceeds from the Summerset Regatta go towards youth sailing initiatives, including grants and scholarships for students at the non-profit Edison Sailing Center and Ostego Bay Foundation.

Regatta organizers Allen Fiske, Steve Romaine and James Gallagher would like to thank their committee members, each and every volunteer, the local sponsors and all participants for making 2019 one of the most successful and memorable editions of the Summerset in 54 years!

Overall Results


1st – Obsession – Gary Schwarting
2nd – T-Bone – Jason Richards
3rd – Full Tilt – Eric Milbrandt

Non-Spinnaker A

1st – Fancy Free – Geral Poquette
2nd – Mae-B – Frank Brown
3rd – Eroica – Tom Horner

Non-Spinnaker B

1st – Essence – Paul McDill
2nd – Radiant – Arthur Schuller
3rd – Moki – Glenn McDill

True Cruising A

1st – Serendipity – Mike Busher
2nd – Castaways – John Finnegan
3rd – Windy City – Diane Fowler

True Cruising B

1st – Laura Li – Arnie Pfalz
2nd – Sail La Vie – Mark Beauvois
3rd – Karma – Joe Martinez

Sunday Pursuit Race

1st – Mae-B – Frank Brown
2nd – Vagabond – Daniel Spence
3rd – Essence – Paul McDill


Sunday Lou Tilley Classic Race

1st – Tranquility – Lee Reeves
2nd – Gopher Baroque – Jason Pim
3rd – Jazzy – Gary Blessing


Complete / Official Scoring Documents

Sunday Racing Instructions

Based on the wind and the apparent red tide further down in Bonita Beach, we have selected a pursuit race course closer to the beach and closer to Fort Myers.


The Lou Tilley Cruiser Classic race will only be 14 Nm and is an easy course – up and back. The WFPHRF BOTY Summerset Pursuit Race will require you to follow directions and there are a few zig zags! Please see the starting order below:


NOTE: The sailing instructions and the NOR state that the starting time for the first boat of this race was at 10:00. This has been revised and the first boat will start at 9:30. This change only impacts seven skippers who will have starting times before 10:00 which we will reach out to individually.

Summerset Scratch Sheet

The scratch sheet for the 2019 Summserset Regatta has been published.

Please note that both Non-Spinnaker and True Cruising has been split into A & B classes. 

There will be not be a separate multi-hull class this year.

2019 Summerset Scratch Sheet

Start & Finish Lines Changed!

Due to the number of participants, and to create the ability for the committee boat to start a new class in a timely manner, the finish line has been moved to the starboard side.

The start line remains on the port side.

This new finish line marker is also the #3 Leeward Turning Mark as before.

Please see revised course diagrams for the Saturday buoy races in this PDF document:

CMCS Summerset Revised SI – Saturday Buoy Race Map

Sunday PHRF Race

Please note, the Sunday PHRF Race (Coastal Race) will be a PURSUIT Race.

Summerset Committee

Sunday Awards Dinner Update

Please note that the the Sunday Awards Dinner (October 6, 2019) will NOT take place at Parrot Key Grill, as was originally announced.

The awards dinner will take place next door, at the Original Shrimp Dock.

Both restaurants are onsite at Salty Sam’s Marina. The address for the Original Shrimp Dock is 2200 Main St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931.

– Summerset Committee

Welcome to

Welcome to the all new, revamped Summerset website! We hope you can find everything you’re looking for, but in case you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us!